Main menu -> User management -> Add new user

User attributes (a)

On this page you can modify the attributes of an existing user or add a new user.

Login name
This is the name the user uses when he / she logs in to the system.

Password
This is the password the user uses when he / she logs in to the system. This setting is available on this page only when adding a new user; later you can change the password through the user management page.

Re-type password
This is the user's password for second time. This is required in order to eliminate spelling errors. This setting is also visible only when adding a user.

User type
This setting specifies the type of the user. Currently there are two types of users: Normal users and Administrator users. Administrator users can manage projects and users, update the system and do other administrative tasks. Administrators also always have full access to all projects. Normal users cannot access the Administrator tools and they don't have any access to any project by default; all access rights must be explicitly given.

Company / department
This is the company and / or department the user works for / in. Whether this defines the company, the department or both depends on the environment you're using Sirid in.

Address information
Street address, city and country specify the address information of the user only partially but the full address information is rarely required. If you want to specify the user's full address here, you can write the user's zip code and state to the city field (e.g. Houston, TX 77054).

Language
This setting specifies the language the user will be using Sirid in. All pages are shown to the user using the selected language and emails sent to the user will be in this language. An exception to the email language is when the email has multiple recipients and some of them have different language, in which case system default language will be used to send the message.

Contact information
You can specify zero or more (preferably at least one) email addresses that will be used when sending messages to the user. The messages will be sent only to the active email addresses.
You can also specify zero or more phone / mobile numbers. Because this information is not directly used by the system but is instead only provided for other users in order to contact you, you can, disregarding the setting name, also specify the user's fax number here by writing, for example 760-602-1774 (fax).

User global rights
These settings specify some global permissions and restictions for the user. Administrator users are not tied by these rights; they are always allowed to do everything.
Act as accountant: This setting allows the user to search time spent by other users on the time tracking page. Accountant users are also allowed to modify time related entries created by other users. You generally want to give this right to payroll clerks or people dealing with billing.
Not a member of group 'All': This restiction prohibits the user from seeing projects unless the user is explicitly granted an access right to that project. More precisely, the user won't see projects that contain access right for the "user" 'All'. You generally want to use this option when you want to use the 'All'-access to allow all employees of a company to access certain project but you don't want "guest" users (customers, subcontractors, etc.) to see the project.

User interface
These options specify which user interface elements to show to the user. Generally you want to show all user interface elements but if your company doesn't for example want to use the bug-functionality in Sirid at all, you can choose to hide the bug related elements from the user interface too.
Note that this option is not related to the per project access rights. Removing the user interface elements does not prohibit the user from accessing the pages: If the user has "view bugs "-access right for a certain project and he clicks the link to "view bug"-page, provided in an email for example, he will be able to see the bug details. In short, these settings only hide functionality, don't prevent accessing it.

Related links
Change user password
User management